Akahi Tutors

WhatsApp - 08038644328

Covenant University New Year and Omega Semester commences on Sunday, January 3, 2015.

Covenant University New Year and Omega Semester commences on Sunday, January 3, 2015.

Covenant University Closes Semester in Grand Style, Rewards Outstanding  Performance

Covenant University closed the year 2015 in a grand style as some academic departments, faculty and staff were rewarded for their outstanding performance during the year and particularly the 2015/2016 Alpha Semester.

The awards were given during the Closing Assembly held on Monday, December 21, 2015 at the African Leadership Development Centre (ALDC) of the University.

The Department of Chemistry won the overall Best Department in the University while Department of Physics and Computer and Information Sciences came second and third respectively.

Presenting the modalities for grading and consideration for the awards, the Director, Academic Planning Unit (DAPU), Dr. Olawande Daramola, noted that teaching quality, administrative efficiency, compliance with the University Management’s policies, research activities and internally generated revenue (IGR) were among the criteria used.

“The essence of this was to improve the quality of service and aid the speedy attainment of ‘Vision 1 of 10 in 10’. The lessons learnt here is that anything done goes to the records and we believe that the result will encourage everyone for better performance,” Dr. Daramola said as he promised that the awards would be sustained.

Other award categories include Best Department in the Colleges which goes to Department of Accounting in the College of Business and Social Sciences (CBSS), Department of Chemistry in the College of Science and Technology (CST), Mechanical Engineering for the College of Engineering (CoE) and Department of Political Science and International Relations for the College of Leadership Development Studies (CLDS).

College of Science and Technology (CST) was adjudged the Best College; the Best Archival award went to the University Library, otherwise known as Centre for Learning Resources (CLR) and the Covenant University Centre for Research, Innovation and Discovery (CUCRID) won award in the Product Development category.

In the individual awards category, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Ayo won the outstanding Leadership award, while the Effective Management Oversight went to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Taiwo Abioye. The Director, Academic Planning, Dr. Olawande Daramola won the Effective Academic Quality Assurance as the Director, VC’s Office, Dr. Akan Williams was awarded Effective Monitoring Oversight. The Director, Vision 10:2022, Professor Christian Bolu won the Outstanding Partnership Initiative award.

The Dean, College of Business and Social Sciences (CBSS), Professor Francis Iyoha, won the Outstanding Dean award, while the Outstanding Sub-Dean award went to Dr. David Omole of College of Engineering. The best staff in the Vice-Chancellor’s Office went to Senior Assistant Registrar (SAR), Deacon Joshua Ogagaoghene. Mr. Shola Oyinloye won the best staff in the Registry Unit; the best Technologist award went to Mr. Gbenga Afolabi, while Mr. Akinyosola Morakinyo was adjudged the best staff in the Directorate of Financial Services.

In his remarks, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Charles Ayo, thanked God for numerous successes recorded in the Semester particularly the Alpha Semester Examination result which he declared the best ever from inception. He charged the faculty and staff to take advantage of the conference sponsoring policy of the University for their exposures.

“International recognition is a must for a 21st Century academic. You can’t afford to remain a local champion”, Professor Ayo noted. He added that the Award which was the maiden edition would be sustained and promised that more individuals would be listed in the subsequent editions.

The excited faculty and staff also thanked God and prayed for a glorious Omega Semester even as they proceeded on Christmas break. The New Year and Omega Semester commences on Sunday, January 3, 2015.

Click here to view photo gallery

Go Back